The Mont Belvieu Municipal Court strives to accurately, efficiently, and professionally handle all violations written within the City limits. Customer service is the number one priority, with an emphasis on providing maximum access to the Court and promoting public confidence in the Court System.
The Mont Belvieu Municipal Court is co-located with the Mont Belvieu Police Department within the municipal complex located at 11607 Eagle Dr. The court can be reached via e-mail at email@example.com. Physical items or documents that need to be submitted to the court may be sent to P.O. Box 1048 Mont Belvieu, TX 77580 or faxed to 281-385-2288.
- The Mont Belvieu Municipal Court does not provide or give legal advice
- A payment by phone or online is a plea of "No Contest"
- Please wait 2 business days before calling the court or coming into the court once you have received a citation
- Anyone under 17 years of age must appear in person before the judge on their court date at 3:00 p.m. and must be accompanied by a parent or legal guardian
- Anyone under 21 years of age, but over 17 years of age, that is charged with an alcohol offense must appear in person before the judge
- A telephone call does not constitute an appearance and continuances are not granted by telephone
- Convictions for moving violations are reported to the Texas Department of Public Safety
- If you do not appear in court or make a payment on or before the court date on your citation, an additional charge of Failure to Appear will be filed against you and a warrant will follow
If you receive a citation within the City of Mont Belvieu, you have several options by which to proceed:
You may pay the fine and court costs for the violation(s) you are charged with in person, by mail, phone or online. Methods of payment are visa, master card, discover, money order, and cash. Please make money orders payable to the City of Mont Belvieu.
You may request a payment plan in person and half of the total due must be paid in order to begin a payment plan. Once half is paid, there will be a minimum fee due once a month on the same day each month. *a one- time $25 fee is added to each violation that is on the payment plan*
Driving Safety Course (DSC)
A defendant charged with a moving traffic violation under the state law may be eligible to take a driving safety course or motorcycle operator training course in order to have a citation dismissed and not appear on the permanent driving record. If a citation is dismissed under this provision, it will not appear as a conviction on the driving record and according to state law, should not affect insurance premiums.
In order to take a driving safety course, a defendant must first have permission of the court to do so. To determine eligibility, a driving safety course must not have been taken 12 months prior to the date of the citation. It is the defendant’s responsibility to determine if he is eligible to take a course. If eligibility is determined, one must:
- Enter a plea of no contest or guilty
- Pay applicable state court costs and administrative fees of $144.00 or $169.00 if the violation is in a school zone
- Present a valid Texas driver’s license
- Present valid insurance with the defendant’s name on the policy
Offenses Not Covered
Not all offenses under the Texas Transportation Code are subject to dismissal upon completion of a driving safety course. A driver will not be eligible to have a charge dismissed by completing a driving safety course if:
- If you are charged with failing to stop and render aid
- The alleged moving violation has occurred in a construction zone with workers present
- The alleged speed is 25 miles per hour or more over the posted speed limit
- The alleged violation is passing a school bus while loading or unloading students
- The driver holds a commercial driver’s license
Deferred Disposition (Probation)
A Defendant charged with a moving violation or Fail To Maintain Financial Responsibility offense, may be eligible to request Deferred Disposition in order to have a citation dismissed and not appear on the permanent driving record. If a citation is dismissed under this provision, it will not appear as a conviction on the driving record and according to state law, should not affect insurance premiums.
Request a Trial by Judge or Jury
You may plead Not Guilty by appearing at your court date and time located at the bottom of the citation. A pre-trial appearance on a different date will be required before a trial by judge or jury.